On June 25, 2019, the State of Connecticut enacted the Paid Family and Medical Leave Authority, which created a comprehensive paid family and medical leave insurance program in Connecticut.
The paid leave benefit will be funded by a 0.5 percent mandatory employee payroll tax, which Connecticut employers must begin withholding on January 1, 2021. No employer contribution is required for family or medical leave premiums
*All employers must register by December 31, 2020 online at https://ctpaidleave.org
This website has information for employees & employers in Connecticut, as well as for third party administrators & healthcare providers.
Employee contributions must be submitted quarterly. The first payment will be due April 30, 2021.
Beginning in 2022, eligible employees may take up to 12 weeks of paid family and medical leave in a 12-month period.
Beginning July 1, 2022, employers must provide written notice to employees of their right to benefits under the law, both at the time of hiring and annually thereafter.
Employers may apply to the Authority for approval to meet obligations under the law through a private plan. An employer’s private plan must provide all of the same rights, protections and benefits as provided under the paid family and medical leave law.